Home.

“Home is where the heart is…”

“Home… Where our story begins”

“Home sweet home”

What is home? Where is home? Why do we even want a place to call home?

 

I woke up this morning and the sudden realisation that today was the last time I will leave Falmouth knowing I am to return, hit me slap bang in the face.

And I sobbed my heart out.

I felt like a small child, crying and crying but not knowing what to do. The only thing I could do was cry out to God asking for help. I didn’t know what I needed help with, and still don’t. But I know I couldn’t continue to feel that way.

I hate transitions. Arriving in places is fine, I know I’ll be ok. But leaving places – that doesn’t get any easier.

Now it’s not like I’ve been jet setting around the world all my life. But in that past 4 years I’ve moved about a fair amount. And even if I hadn’t, I don’t think the university to home transition gets any easier.

You’re settled, completely absorbed in one life. Then suddenly uprooted, thrown into another life. And not really sure which one is real.

Of course they’re both real, as much as you try to convince yourself that they don’t continue without you, everything is still happening, but (obviously) you can’t be in two places at once.

But why do we have this craving of ‘home’?

I think for me, home is the place I can always go back to and be welcomed. My family, my church, my friends (no matter where in the world they are). The places where things will have changed but arms are still open wide.
Yet I think the inherent desire we have for home is something more than that.

As C.S Lewis says
“If I find in myself desires which nothing in this world can satisfy, the only logical explanation is that I was made for another world.”

We do not belong to this earth. We are made for something – someone else.

‘But we are citizens of heaven, where the Lord Jesus Christ lives. And we are eagerly waiting for him to return as our Saviour’ (Philippians 3:20 NLT)

Our home is found in Jesus. In the promises that one day there will be no more tears or pain or longing. We will be back where we belong. It’s in Jesus I can find my refuge. I can rest in him. I can know that wherever I go, he is upholding me, he is leading the way. And if I stray away, he will always welcome me.

‘My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.’ (John 14:2-3 NIV)

Jesus is preparing an eternal home for those that are in him. A place where we can find ultimate rest. A place where we are completely, utterly and unconditionally loved. Where arms are always wide open. A place that we can forever call home.

Leave a Reply

