“I’m not being negative, I’m being realistic.”

I used to be an incredibly negative person, every comment that would come out of my mouth would be negative, every positive thing someone else would say I would throw back at them. I had a really good friend who used to try and stop me, she would constantly bring up every negative comment with me. Yet when she told me to stop being so negative, I’d disagree, saying “I’m not being negative, I’m being realistic.”

I didn’t get how much rubbish that statement is until recently. And I owe a lot to that friend for bringing up every time I was negative and helping me to be a more positive person. It certainly wouldn’t have been easy work for her!

Because, actually being realistic is just fitting in with what the world is saying all around you. It’s not stepping out, it’s not taking risks, it’s not going for dreams.

def. Realistic – interested in, concerned with, or based on what is real or practical.

Being realistic, is settling for what you know, what you know other people around you also know. And where are the dreams in that?

What dreams do you hear that are realistic? People get afraid to share them because actually if you think about it then there are always a million and one reasons that you can’t do something. A million and one reasons why something can’t happen.

When I have thoughts like this coming to me, I reach for my bible, I try and get God’s perspective.

Is God ‘realistic’?

The creation of the world? Realistic? The flood? Realistic? Separating the waters of the red sea? Realistic? Jesus being born in a stable? Realistic? Him dying on a cross, for us? Realistic? Him rising from the dead? Realistic?

The reasons I can’t always get my head around them, is because, in fact, they aren’t realistic. God’s plans are beyond our understanding. The way he works, we can just never grasp. And that includes the way he can work in our lives.

Ephesians 3:20 “Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us”

God can do immeasurably more.

That means we need to not just stay away from being realistic, we need to dream big dreams, times then by a 1000 and then go for them.

I’m bored of realistic. I’m bored of fitting in with what the world says. I want to dream, and not only dream, but to go for them, make them happen and change how people define ‘realistic.’

Leave a Reply

